Sue Pam-Grant

 Display in english

Accès rapide :
En Route 2006
Simplicity Miss Petite 2005
Inner Lining 2007
Class of 1969
First Sitting
Hotel

Sue Pam-Grant - Accès à la galerie

SUE PAM-GRANT –  Actuellement vit à JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA

Mobile +27 082 896 7112

Née le 22 11 62 - Cape Town

1983
Le DIPLÔME de PERFROMERS ACCOMPLI à L'ÉCOLE DE DRAME d'UCT, Cape Town

1984 – 1987
TRAVAILLE COMME ACTEUR FREE-LANCE – Johannesburg.

1988
CO-ÉCRIT CURL UP AND DYE AVEC LA PARTICIPATION DE DISC-JOCKEY DE MARI

1989 – 1991
EXÉCUTÉ ET VISITÉ AVEC CURL UP AND DYE
JHB; CAPE TOWN; DURBAN; LONDRES; ÉDIMBOURG; L'ALLEMAGNE
CURL UP AND DYE A GAGNÉ BEAUCOUP DE PRIX LOCAUX ET INTERNATIONAUX TANT ICI QU'À ÉDIMBOURG.

 1991-1996
CO-ECRIT AVEC LA SUBVENTION DE DISC-JOCKEY : UNE AUTRE BOUILLOIRE DE POISSON
LANCEZ-VOUS SUR LA PISTE DE DANSE – JHB, CAPE TOWN, FEST D'ÉDIMBOURG, MONTRÉAL

1997 – 1998
La FÉLICITÉ de SURBURBAN – JOUANT KOBIE UN PRINCIPAL RÔLE DANS LA COMÉDIE DE SITUATION DE TÉLÉVISION

1998
EST DEVENU UNE MAMAN à RILEY!
1999 – 2000
LE FAIT DE DIRIGER LE THÉÂTRE INDUSTRIEL ET D'ENTREPRISE POUR LES COMMUNICATIONS BLUEMOON D'ENTREPRISE ET EN ÉTANT UNE MAMAN

2000
MA FILLE LULA EST NÉE
2001
A CO ÉCRIT AVEC LA SUBVENTION DE DJ Grant POURSUIVANT DES CHAISES

2002
PERFORMANCE DANS DANS LA POURSUITE DES CHAISES
CO – CRÉÉ ET DIRIGÉ ‘L'ART DU FAIT D'ENLEVER’ AVEC GERARD BESTER
FAIT D'ORDONNER DU THÉÂTRE INDUSTRIEL

2003
TRAVAILLÉ COMME LE DIRECTEUR CRÉATEUR ET LE CONSEILLER à BLUEMOON [le fait d'ordonner de leurs communications d'entreprise]

2004
Le 'FACTEUR D'ÉCRAN CRÉÉ ET DIRIGÉ 8’ QUI A OUVERT LE PARAPLUIE DE DANSE de FNB – le STADE DE PLEIN AIR DE NELSON LE CARRÉ de MANDELLA
LE DIRECTEUR ET LE CONSEILLER CRÉATEUR à BLUEMOON

2005

LE SPECTACLE DE SOLO - ‘LA SIMPLICITÉ MLLE PETITE SIZE 8MP’ – le GRAND COLLAGE LES TRAVAUX PHOTOGRAPHIQUES SUR LA TOILE; JHB MUTI LA GALERIE [44 STANLEY];

LA CLOCHE ROBERTS CAPE TOWN - Simplicité

 NSA DURBAN. - Simplicité

LE SPECTACLE DE GROUPE – SASOL NOUVEAU SIGNITURES

LE SPECTACLE DE GROUPE – ARTSPACE ‘OPPITAFEL’ MINITURES


2006

LE FAIT DE SYMBOLISER LA FOI – LA GALERIE DE BANQUE STANDARD - LE SPECTACLE DE GROUPE

EN ROUTE – LE BAMBOU – LE SPECTACLE DE SOLO

CO CREATED et DIRIGÉ LE TRAVAIL de THEARE 'le COUPÉ' pour la BANQUE STANDARD LE FESTIVAL NATIONAL D'ART – le Festival Principal COMMENCÉ POUR JOUER AVEC GUILLAUME KENTRIDGE SUR UN PROJET

2007
Le coupé a reçu 8 nominations sur les prix Naledi de Théâtre en incluant le Meilleur Directeur.

Le coupé a reçu 6 Prix de Naledi en incluant le Meilleur Travail D'avant-garde
Et le Meilleur Travail d'Ensemble.

‘Doublure Intérieure’
L'EXPOSITION DE SOLO À L'UNIVERSITÉ DE GALERIE D'ART DE JOHANNESBURG 6 – le 27 juin 2007.

2008

EN FÉVRIER - LE SPECTACLE DE SOLO À LA GALERIE MOMO

EN JUIN/JUILLET – LA COLLABORATION AVEC GUILLAUME KENTRIDGE POUR BIENALLE DE SYDNEY .

EN SEPTEMBRE – LE FAIT D'ORDONNER DU COUPÉ POUR LA SAISON DE THÉÂTRE DU MARCHÉ, LE STADE PRINCIPAL.
MANIFESTE

 

DOUBLURE INTERIEURE

C'est dans le vêtement fait sur mesure que nous trouvons une doublure intérieure.

Intérieur :

1. Davantage dans; intérieur

2. Des pensées, les sentiments plus profonds; plus secret

Doublure :

1. Une couche de matériel pour doubler une surface.

2. Une couche intérieure ou surface

De mon expÈrience comme un praticien de thÈ‚tre, je suis venu pour comprendre la nature complexe du triangle crÈateur – l'Artiste, l'Art et l'Audience. Pour moi, l'acte d'art doit porter l'histoire, se livrer avec votre audience, enflammer l'imagination collective et entrer dans un dialogue qui rÈsonne dans le rÈcepteur; une intervention qui prend le tÈlÈspectateur en route dans un Èchange crÈateur.

Ma quÍte pour crÈer Ètait toujours suscitÈe par les excavations, creusant pour les trÈsors, en retirant des histoires, en cherchant de nouveaux portraits dans de vieilles histoires.

Le commencement dans les rues de Parc de Joubert [Se pelotonne et le Colorant], aux Studios de Danse dans Hillbrow [Se lancent sur la piste de danse], de ma cuisine [la Poursuite des Chaises], aux voyages sur les Chemins de fer sud-africains. [Le coupÈ] et la derniËre fois au pied de la chaudiËre de la dÈcharge publique municipale Smithfield dans l'Etat antiesclavagiste.

Quand mis en prÈsence d'une fin, vous retournez ‡ un commencement. Cette fois c'est mon histoire qui a enflammÈ l'excavation, ‘la fragilitÈ dans la vie / le pouvoir dans la fragilitÈ.’ Une exploration que les trajets en arriËre ‡ l'expÈrience d'enfance et ‡ une conversation qui continue ‡ interroger mon existence quotidienne.

Mes enfants et mes voyages quotidiens ‡ et de la cour d'école primaire m'ont mené à explorer la fonction de mémoire et comment il évoque, simultanément, une nostalgie pour celui qui s'est senti perdu et une résilience dans la vulnérabilité qui a été trouvée. Ma cour est sur un morceau de toile clouée à l'étage. Ici je rassemble mes couches. J'utilise le calicot, l'élastique, les clous, la colle, les charpentes, les détenteurs de jeu de paume de tennis, les fenêtres, les tiroirs, les chaises, les échelles, les sofas, les cuvettes, les cuves, les passoires, les louches, les boîtes de g‚teau, les seaux, les entonnoirs, les printemps de lit, les détenteurs de serviette cotonniers, hygiÈniques, le thé - les pots, les machines à coudre, les boutons, les gommes, les couteaux, les fourchettes, les torchons, les serviettes, les aiguilles, les cartables, la valise, le fer, les parties du balancer-cheval, prennent en cuiller, les pots, les vaches de plastique, les bouteilles scolaires, les bandages, la ballerine, les rËgles, les biscuits de zoo, les bustiers, les dÈtenteurs de serviette de table, les bonnets de bain, les landaus, le blaireau, les Èpingles de cheveux, les dés à coudre, les trains de jouet, les cubes de sucre d'hÙtel, les bouilloires, les tasses, les frocs, le texte et les chaussures.

J'emballe alors, attache, plie, couvre, coupe à petits coups, déchire, colle, bande, rapiËce, renforce, colle, l'agrafe, l'ongle, le coup, le nœud, attache, la ligne, la marque, efface et me tache de nouveau, en soudant les craquements et les raccords, dans les assemblage qui jonglent avec la fragilitÈ et la rÈsilience dans une tentative de compromis, de la performance prÈcaire de vie.

Dans cette exploration continuée, j'ai trouvé un corps d'évidence qui me reprend à mes commencements, aux heures sans fin de saut par la tension d'en croisillons élastiques et au premier fracas d'oie sur ma peau quand j'ai retirÈ une girafe enterrée du sol dans mon jardin.

Mon excavation est en train et je continuerai à creuser …

Les histoires tactiles portant nos taches, nos cicatrices de vie, nos identitÈs uniques, nos dessins de ligne profondÈment gravés dans notre toile de peau, notre linings intérieur.

Sue Pam Grant 2007“La Doublure Intérieure” par Sue pam Grant. Jusqu'au 27 juin. (La Galerie d'Art d'UJ, le Parc d'Auckland. 011-559-2911)

La première chose qui vous frappe en entrant dans l'espace de galerie est le silence. Vous pourriez vous disputer : l'art est visuel, pas auditif. Mais le silence exsudé par les assemblage de Pam-subvention est surnaturel. Peut-être il est parce que beaucoup comprennent des éléments de la nostalgie bruyante. Il est comme si les travaux ont subitement arrêté de bavarder parmi eux, admettre votre présence.

Les travaux personnifient un élaboré, un humour quelquefois ironique, doux, tinctured avec profond, une nostalgie jamais triviale. C'est le sens d'excentriques qui a infusé le travail de femmes associées au dada de Paris. C'est la Pam-subvention ôtant son bonnet à Joseph Cornell et à Tadeusz Kantor. C'est aussi unique, compilé avec un sens agressivement brave de vie.

Pam Grant pourrait être plus connu aux chamois d'amusement que les d'art. Elle était “Kobie” dans la "Félicité de Banlieue” pendant les années 1990. Elle a créé le jeu gagnant prix “Se pelotonnent et le Colorant” en 1989 et co-created et “CoupÈ” dirigé, qui a gagné six Prix de Naledi en 2007. Elle a commencé à faire l'art visuel en 2005. Elle travaille avec les objets trouvés. Marcel Duchamp l'a fait en 1913, en attachant une roue de bicyclette à un tabouret de cuisine, en se balançant ainsi et en choquant le monde d'art.

Pam Grant l'approche est compliquée par l'autobiographie et ses adresses de théâtre. Le sien est la sorte de magie réfléchie latérale qui peut faire une passoire le visage d'un enfant, ou de deux paires de chaussures de ballet dans un portrait d'une femme et de sa fille. Il peut rendre un basinful de bonnets de bain roses périssant dans les "Melons Roses”, bourré avec les dessins de robe, faire doucement allusion à la maladie. Il est dans le geste, plutôt que la ressemblance forcée et dans son excentricité, c'est poignant et comique.

Les travaux comprennent la maison 'le bazar' : les cuvettes rouillées, les seaux, les meubles, les vêtements, en cousant des instruments et des dessins de robe. Les bandages forment un médium important, en faisant l'ordinaire extraordinaire, comme dans le "Déjeuner Scolaire”. "La Fenêtre" travaux, les compositions géométriques des bandes élastiques dans rouge, bleu et de la chair, est moins réussie que les assemblage élaborés.

“Le dernier film de famille” fracasse des valeurs. En comprenant une passoire remplie de l'élastique, un vieux fer façonné et une roue, il y a un sens d'une bobine se déroulant; les pignons sont absents, le celluloïd est l'élastique. Effectivement, il y a beaucoup de cet élastique rose dans son travail. Un peu de cela a de la substance dans les chaussures de ballet. Plus de jeux un rôle comme les bandages et les bandes. Il ressemble à l'élastique de bustier.

En 2003, la Pam-subvention a été diagnostiquée avec le cancer du sein. Beaucoup de doublure intérieure de ce spectacle est du défi que cela a représenté à son sens d'équilibre.

Le morceau le plus puissant est “le Portrait avec les Lignes 24042007”. Il est incorporé dans un escabeau. Dans les bandes de bandage de crêpe, écrit avec le crayon rouge, la Pam-subvention rend l'hommage à sa mère, qu'elle a perdue le 24 avril 1997. Il est juxtaposé sur un travail de trois parties, construit dans les tiroirs en-bas-à-talon blancs de cuisine de bois, entitled "le Bustier". Dans chacun, nous voyons un bustier de mastectomie, dans chacun nous lisons beaucoup de commentaires des seins. Des vœux elle n'avait aucun sein quand elle a commencé à apprendre le ballet dans les Six Standard.D'une curiosité presque objective de sa maladie. Plutôt que larmoyant ou clinique, ce coeur central au spectacle est profond et inexorablement humain. 

Dans la "Doublure Intérieure” la Pam-subvention démontre sa capacité théâtrale d'équilibrer la torsion visuelle avec la tension d'histoire. Le résultat est des représentations étonnamment sensibles de l'unrepresentable.
 

By Robyn Sassen - Rapport Juif June 2007

 

Sue Pam Grant Juin 2007

"La Doublure Intérieure", une exposition, par Sue Pam Grant court jusqu'au 27 juin à la Galerie UJ D'art dans le Parc d'Auckland.

 

Si vous faites des vêtements vous saurez comment important la doublure intérieure est : il dit l'instant, la durabilité, la qualité – sous la surface. C'est autour de cette philosophie qui Poursuivent la Pam-subvention en justice construit son expérience de vie étendue qui l'a prise du ballet, au théâtre et à la télévision aux sculptures uniques qui lui sont devenues la deuxième nature.Dans cette nouvelle forme d'art, où elle utilise des marchandises du ménage sauvées des décharges publiques municipales, Poursuivent la Pam-subvention en justice a trouvé une façon de transformer la douleur dans l'espoir. Le fait d'afficher toujours le sens de l'humour enjoué qu'elle utilise pour dire des choses pénibles – se souvient "Se pelotonnent et le Colorant" - que le jeu de théâtre au cours des années quatre-vingt qui avait chacun la conversation et ces étudiants de drame discute toujours, et cela supplie d'être présenté à une nouvelle audience de théâtre ?

'Le théâtre' qui Pam-accordent maintenant des présents à son audience/observateurs a dans un sens fait rétrécir. Son stade a été abrégé aux figurines, les poupées de ballerine ou les chaussures qui représentent les gens, en s'accrochant suspendu dans l'air à l'intérieur d'une charpente vieille, érodée, de bois : l'effet aussi assommant comme les mots elle a apporté à la vie sur le stade.

Dans les assemblage d'objets rouillés qui évoquent la femme, la mère et l'enfant, "la Doublure Intérieure" enquête sur la fragilité de vie. La vulnérabilité et le caractère éphémère, mais en même temps un poignant (impitoyable ?) préconise pour survivre qui crée la prospérité du malheur, est le thème central.

Dans les élastiques qui attachent les objets dans de différentes compositions aux charpentes, on peut sentir au point de rupture les rapports tendus des gens l'un avec l'autre. Le mémento de jarretelles qui ont soutenu des bas scolaires et des corsets qui ont moisi des figures selon la prescription de mode, suggère de se lier et la tension. Ses déclarations avec les objets sont aussi pointues que l'impact de ses mots, gestes, costumes et maquillage dans ses performances de stade.

Les plats d'émail rouillés et négligés, les châssis de fenêtre érodés de bois, les tiroirs desserrés ont isolé de leurs placards, les boîtes de partitions contenant des articles de vêtements et d'objets de la corbeille de travaux d'aiguille d'une femme et de l'armoire à pharmacie, toutes les métaphores devenues pour la vie ont vécu – une vie dans laquelle nous tous pouvons nous souvenir des expériences pénibles à notre corps et âme. Aussi, le froissé rêve d'un enfant qui ne pouvait pas être fidèle aux attentes de sa famille. "Les gens ont voulu me voir remplir mon cousin – Phyllis Spira – la boule chaussures de ballet. Et la longue route d'acceptation de son corps après qu'elle a perdu son sein au cancer. "Ironique qu'il est arrivé la façon qu'il a faite. Quand je ne pouvais pas réaliser le rêve de ballet je l'ai accordé mon "pas les " seins assez plats", sourit en grimaçant l'artiste.

L'ironie et le paradoxe, ensemble avec l'humour, sont les unités élémentaires de structure intransigeantes de Pam-subvention. Avec ceux-ci elle évite la sentimentalité et la pitié de soi qui sont si faciles de se battre avec.

Elle accomplit cette distance nécessaire entre l'expérience et la présentation aussi par son expérience riche dans le fait d'assimiler l'art abstrait d'artiste néerlandais Piet Mondriaan. Ses lignes orientées-justes et blocs ont peint rouge, jaune et bleu sont reflétés dans les stries roses et bleues sur les plateaux quotidiens et les torchons qu'elle a utilisés. Avec les vêtements de l'élastique et des châssis de fenêtre, cet artiste sur le dessous de la terre a traduit les résumés de Mondriaan dans la langue de torchon. Frivole dans quelques travaux; a pénible et les mémentos d'énorme manque de confort émotionnel dans d'autres.

Ce contraste n'est pas un fatras qui les fanfaronnades de l'adresse vertueuse de l'artiste en utilisant chaque technique possible d'art. Ses métaphores deviennent plus brillantes et sont mises l'accent par l'utilisation de ces objets les banals.

Les expositions et les morceaux de théâtre comme :

Le premier solo de grand collage de caractères photographiques sur le tissu à ancienne galerie d'art, Muti, à 44 Stanley Avenue, Milpark, Johannesburg. L'exposition a voyagé à Bell Roberts à Cape Town et au NSA dans Durban en 2005.

Ensemble avec son mari, DJ GRANT, elle a écrit et a interprété un morceau de théâtre qui a gagné des prix locaux et internationaux : Pelotonnez-vous et Teignez, à partir de 1988 à 1991. D'autres morceaux coopératifs de théâtre ensemble avec son

le mari inclut une Autre Bouilloire de Poisson, exécuté à partir de 1991 à 1996.

Les téléspectateurs de télévision ont apprécié la Pam-subvention comme Kobie dans le feuilleton mélo la Félicité de Banlieue à partir de 1991 à 1996.

Les photos envoyées à Beeld par l'artiste :

14 Fenêtre de Cuisine 31052007 – une charpente de bois utilisée comme la toile de fond pour traycloths et les torchons construits dans le style de Mondriaan. Une reconstruction d'une vie qui a été cognée durement, mais cela a triomphé dans la transcendance. Chacun avec les lignes et le piquant, comme une doublure intérieure de defendability intérieur.

23 Plâtre de Paris se composant de la scène d'un enfant avec le seau, le plâtre, bande et les chaussures scolaires contre une toile de fond de Grand Windows dans les dessins de Mondriaan, comme les veuves de cuisine décrites ci-dessus.

By Bette Lambrecht -The Beeld 14 June 2007

 
© Les oeuvres d'Art présentes sur Artabus sont soumises aux dispositions des différentes législations nationales et internationales sur la protection des droits d'auteurs. Toute reproduction ou utilisation des oeuvres de cette galerie est interdite sans autorisation écrite de l'artiste contemporain Sue Pam-Grant.
[ Infos légales | Qui sommes nous | | Calibrage écran | RSS | Administration Salesforce ]

Sue Pam-Grant

 Afficher en français

Quick access :
En Route 2006
Simplicity Miss Petite 2005
Inner Lining 2007
Class of 1969
First Sitting
Hotel

Sue Pam-Grant - Enter the gallery

SUE PAM-GRANT – CURRENTLY LIVING IN JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA

Mobile +27 082 896 7112

BORN 22 11 62 - Cape Town

1983

COMPLETED PERFROMERS DIPLOMA UCT DRAMA SCHOOL ,Cape Town

1984 –1987

WORKED AS FREELANCE ACTOR – Johannesburg.

1988

CO WROTE CURL UP AND DYE WITH HUSBAND DJ GRANT

1989 – 1991

PERFORMED AND TOURED WITH CURL UP AND DYE

JHB; CAPE TOWN ; DURBAN; LONDON; EDINBURGH; GERMANY

CURL UP AND DYE WON MANY LOCAL AND INTERNATIONAL AWARDS INCLUDING BEST PLAY BOTH HERE AND IN EDINBURGH

1991-1996

CO-WROTE WITH DJ GRANT: ANOTHER KETTLE OF FISH

TAKE THE FLOOR – JHB, CAPE TOWN, EDINBURGH FEST, MONTREAL

1997 – 1998

SURBURBAN BLISS – PLAYING KOBIE A LEADING ROLE IN TELEVISION SITCOM

1998

BECAME A MOM TO RILEY!

1999 – 2000

DIRECTING INDUSTRIAL AND CORPORATE THEATRE FOR BLUEMOON CORPORATE COMMUNICATIONS AND BEING A MAMA

2000

MY DAUGHTER LULA WAS BORN

2001

CO WROTE WITH DJ GRANT CHASING CHAIRS

2002

PERFORMED IN CHASING CHAIRS

CO – CREATED AND DIRECTED ‘THE ART OF TAKING OFF’ WITH GERARD BESTER

DIRECTING INDUSTRIAL THEATRE

2003

WORKED AS CREATIVE DIRECTOR AND CONSULTANT TO BLUEMOON [directing their corporate communications]

2004

CREATED AND DIRECTED ‘SCREEN FACTOR 8’ WHICH OPENED FNB DANCE UMBRELLA – OPEN AIR STAGE IN NELSON MANDELLA SQUARE

DIRECTOR AND CREATIVE CONSULTANT AT BLUEMOON

2005

SOLO SHOW - ‘SIMPLICITY MISS PETITE SIZE 8MP’ – LARGE COLLAGE PHOTOGRAPHIC WORKS ON CANVAS; JHB MUTI GALLERY [44 STANLEY];

BELL ROBERTS CAPE TOWN - Simplicity

NSA DURBAN. - Simplicity

GROUP SHOW – SASOL NEW SIGNITURES

GROUP SHOW – ARTSPACE ‘OPPITAFEL’ MINITURES

2006

FIGURING FAITH – STANDARD BANK GALLERY- GROUP SHOW

EN ROUTE – BAMBOO – SOLO SHOW

CO CREATED and DIRECTED THE THEARE WORK ‘COUPE’ for STANDARD BANK NATIONAL ART FESTIVAL – Main Festival

STARTED TO PLAY WITH WILLIAM KENTRIDGE ON A PROJECT2007

Coupe received 8 nominations for the Naledi Theatre awards including Best Director.

Coupe received 6 Naledi Awards including Best Cutting Edge Work

And Best Ensemble Work.

‘Inner Lining’

SOLO EXHIBITION AT UNIVERSITY OF JOHANNESBURG ART GALLERY 6 – 27 JUNE 2007. 2008

FEBRUARY - SOLO SHOW AT GALLERY MOMO

JUNE/JULY – COLLABORATION WITH WILLIAM KENTRIDGE FOR SYDNEY BIENALLE

SEPTEMBER – DIRECTING COUPE FOR MARKET THEATRE SEASON, MAIN STAGE

MANIFESTO

INNER LINING

It is in the bespoke garment that we find an inner lining.

Inner:
1. Further in; interior
2. Of thoughts, feelings deeper; more secret

Lining:
1. A layer of materials to line a surface.
2. An inside layer or surface

From my experience as a theatre practitioner, I have come to understand the complex nature of the creative triangle – the Artist, the Art and the Audience. For me, the act of art is to carry the story, to engage with your audience, ignite the collective imagination and enter a dialogue that resonates in the receiver; an intervention that takes the viewer en route in a creative exchange.

My quest to create has always been sparked by excavations, digging for treasures, pulling out narratives, searching for new portraits in old stories.
Beginning on the streets of Joubert Park [Curl Up and Dye], to the Dance Studios in Hillbrow [Take the Floor], from my kitchen [Chasing Chairs], to journeys on the South African Railways. [Coupe], and most recently at the foot of the furnace of the Smithfield municipal dump in the Free-State.

When confronted with an end, you go back to a beginning. This time it is my narrative that has ignited the excavation, ‘fragility in living / power in fragility.’ An exploration that routes back to the childhood experience, and a conversation that continues to interrogate my everyday existence.

My children and my daily trips to and from the primary school playground have led me to explore the function of memory and how it evokes, simultaneously, a nostalgia for that which has been lost and a resilience in the vulnerability that has been found. My playground is on a piece of canvas nailed to the floor. Here I assemble my layers. I use calico, elastic, tacks, glue, frames, tennis racquet holders, windows, drawers, chairs, ladders, sofas, basins, tubs, colanders, ladles, cake tins, buckets, funnels, bed springs, cotton, sanitary towel holders, tea- pots, sewing machines, buttons, erasers, knives, forks, tea towels, napkins, needles, satchels, suitcase, iron, parts of the rocking-horse, spoons, pots, plastic cows, school bottles, bandages, ballerina’s, rulers, zoo biscuits, bras, serviette holders, bathing caps, prams, the shaving brush, hair pins, thimbles, toy trains, hotel sugar cubes, kettles, cups, frocks, text and shoes.

I then wrap, bind, fold, cover, snip, tear, stick, bandage, patch, reinforce, glue, staple, nail, pull, knot, tie, line, mark, erase, and mark again, soldering the cracks and joins, into assemblages that juggle fragility and resilience in a balancing act, of life’s precarious performance.

In this continued exploration, I have found a body of evidence that takes me back to my beginnings, to endless hours of jumping through the tension of criss-cross elastics and to the first goose bump on my skin when I pulled out a buried giraffe from the soil in my garden.

My excavation is in process and I will continue to dig …

Tactile narratives bearing our markings, our life scars, our unique identities, our line drawings deeply etched into our skin canvas, our inner lining.

Sue Pam-Grant 14 June 2007

 

"Inner Lining" by Sue Pam-Grant. Until 27 June. (UJ Art Gallery, Auckland Park. 011-559-2911)

The first thing that strikes you on entering the gallery space is the silence. You might argue: art is visual, not aural. But the silence exuded by Pam-Grant’s assemblages is unearthly. Maybe it is because many comprise elements from noisy nostalgia. It is as though the works have suddenly stopped chattering amongst themselves, to acknowledge your presence.

The works embody an evolved, sometimes ironic, gentle humour, tinctured with deep, never trite nostalgia. It’s the sense of off-beat that infused the work of women associated with Paris dada. It’s Pam-Grant doffing her cap to Joseph Cornell and Tadeusz Kantor. It’s also unique, compiled with an aggressively brave sense of life.

Pam-Grant might be more known to entertainment buffs than art ones. She was "Kobie" in "Suburban Bliss" during the 1990s. She created award-winning play "Curl Up and Dye" in 1989, and co-created and directed "CoupÈ", which won six Naledi Awards in 2007. She began making visual art in 2005. She works with found objects. Marcel Duchamp did it in 1913, attaching a bicycle wheel to a kitchen stool, thus rocking and shocking the art world.

Pam-Grant’s approach is complicated by autobiography and her theatre skills. Hers is the kind of lateral thinking magic that can make a colander the face of a child, or two pairs of ballet shoes into a portrait of a woman and her daughter. It can make a basinful of perishing pink bathing caps into "Pink Melons", stuffed with dress patterns, gently allude to illness. It’s in gesture, rather than forced likeness, and in its quirkiness, it is poignant and comical.

The works comprise household ‘junk’: Rusted basins, buckets, furniture, garments, sewing tools and dress patterns. Bandages form an important medium, making the ordinary extraordinary, as in "School Lunch". The "Window" works, geometric compositions from elastic strips in red, blue and flesh, are less successful than the evolved assemblages.

"Last home movie" shatters values. Comprising a colander filled with elastic, an old fashioned iron and a wheel, there is a sense of a reel unwinding; the sprockets are absent, the celluloid is the elastic. Indeed, there is a lot of this pink elastic in her work. Some of it has substance in ballet shoes. More plays a role as bandages and strips. It is like bra elastic.

In 2003, Pam-Grant was diagnosed with breast cancer. A lot of the inner lining of this show is about the challenge that this represented to her sense of equilibrium.

The most powerful piece is "Portrait with Lines 24042007". It’s incorporated into a stepladder. In strips of crepe bandage, written with red pencil, Pam-Grant pays tribute to her mother, who she lost on 24 April 1997. It is juxtaposed over a three-part work, constructed in down-at-heel white wooden kitchen drawers, entitled "Brassiere". In each, we see a mastectomy bra, in each we read many comments about breasts. About wishing she had no breasts when she started learning ballet in Standard Six. About an almost objective curiosity about her illness. Rather than maudlin or clinical, this central core to the show is deep and inexorably human.

In "Inner Lining" Pam-Grant demonstrates her theatrical ability to balance visual torsion with narrative tension. The result is astonishingly sensitive representations of the unrepresentable.

By Robyn Sassen - Jewish Report June 2007

 

 

"Inner Lining", an exhibition, by Sue Pam Grant runs until 27 June at UJ Art Gallery in Auckland Park.

If you make clothing you will know how important the inner lining is: it says instant, durability, quality – under the surface. It is around this philosophy that Sue Pam-Grant builds her extensive life experience that has taken her from ballet, to the theatre and television to the unique sculptures that have become second nature to her. In this new art form, where she uses household goods salvaged from municipal dumps, Sue Pam-Grant has found a way to transform pain into hope. Still displaying the playful sense of humour that she uses to say painful things – remember "Curl up and Dye"- that theatre play in the eighties that had everyone talking and that drama students are still discussing, and that begs to be presented to a new theatre audience?

 

The ‘theatre’ that Pam-Grant now presents to her audience/observers has in one sense shrunk. Her stage has been abstracted to figurines, ballerina dolls or shoes that represent people, hanging suspended in the air inside an old, weathered, wooden frame: the effect just as stunning as the words she brought to life on the stage.

In assemblages of rusted objects that evoke the woman, mother and child, "Inner Lining" investigates the fragility of life. Vulnerability and transience, but at the same time a poignant (relentless?) urge to survive that creates prosperity out of adversity, is the central theme.

In the elastic bands that attach the objects in different compositions to the frames, one can feel to breaking point the tense relationships of people with each other. The reminder of suspenders that held up school stockings, and corsets that molded figures according to the prescription of fashion, suggest binding and tension. Her statements with objects are as sharp as the impact of her words, gestures, costumes and make-up in her stage performances.

 

The rusted and neglected enamel dishes, weathered wooden window frames, loose drawers isolated from their cupboards, boxes of partitions containing items of clothing and objects from a woman’s needlework basket and medicine chest, all become metaphors for life lived – a life in which all of us can recall painful experiences to our body and soul. Also, the crumpled dreams of a child who could not live up to her family’s expectations. "People wanted to see me fill my cousin – Phyllis Spira’s – ballet shoes. And the long road of acceptance of her body after she lost her breast to cancer. "Ironic that it happened the way it did. When I could not fulfill the ballet dream I ascribed it my "not flat enough" breasts", grins the artist.

 

Irony and paradox, together with humour, are Pam-Grant’s principle building blocks. With these she avoids the sentimentality and self-pity that are so easy to struggle with.

She achieves this necessary distance between experience and presentation also through her rich experience in assimilating the abstract art of Dutch artist Piet Mondriaan. His right-angled lines and blocks coloured in red, yellow and blue are reflected in the pink and blue stripes on everyday trays and dishcloths she used. With clothing elastic and window frames, this artist on the underside of the earth translated Mondriaan’s abstracts into dishcloth language. Frivolous in some works; painful and reminders of huge emotional discomfort in others.

This contrast is not a hotch-potch that brags of the artist’s virtuous skill using every possible art technique. Her metaphors grow brighter and are emphasised by the use of these mundane objects.

Information box:

Exhibitions and theatre pieces like:

First solo of large collage of photographic prints on cloth at the former art gallery, Muti, at 44 Stanley Avenue, Milpark , Johannesburg. The exhibition traveled to the Bell Roberts in Cape Town and the NSA in Durban in 2005.

 

Together with her husband, DJ Grant, she wrote and interpreted a theatre piece that won local and international prizes: Curl up and Dye, from 1988 to 1991. Other cooperative theatre pieces together with her husband include Another Kettle of Fish, performed from 1991 to 1996.

Television viewers enjoyed Pam-Grant as Kobie in the soap opera Suburban Bliss from 1991 to 1996.

 

Photos sent to Beeld by the artist:

14 Kitchen Window 31052007 – a wooden frame used as backdrop for traycloths and dishcloths constructed in the Mondriaan style. A reconstruction of a life that was knocked hard but that triumphed in transcending. Every one with lines and stitching, like an inner lining of inner defendability.

23 Plaster of Paris consisting of a child’s scene with bucket, plaster, bandages and school shoes against a backdrop of Large Windows in Mondriaan patterns, such as kitchen widows described above.

By Bette Lambrecht - The Beeld 14 June 2007

 
© All of the images on this website are copyrighted original artworks by their author and are protected by international copyright law. No materials in this gallery may be reproduced, copied, downloaded, or used in any form without written permission of the contemporary artist Sue Pam-Grant.
[ Terms of use | about us | | Screen calibration | RSS | Salesforce Administration ]