Med Bachir Bouchriha

 Display in english

Accès rapide :
Constantine
Personnages
Paysages
Natures mortes

.:: Plongez dans son univers !

Une interview exclusive

Peintre figuratif

Artabus : Vos débuts, quel a été le déclic, qu’est-ce qui vous a incité à peindre ?
Med-Bachir : Fils unique d’une famille modeste de Constantine. Enfant, j’avais déjà ce goût de la liberté et l’envie d’aller au bout de mes rêves. Le mien était de devenir peintre. Je dessinais tout ce qui me passait sous les yeux, j’inventais toutes sortes d’objets. Dans ma solitude, j’éprouvais le besoin de m’évader dans un monde imaginaire.
Les années passaient et je n’en démordais pas. Adolescent j’ai eu la chance, grâce au précieux concours de mon professeur de dessin au collège technique, d'entrer à l’école des beaux-arts de constantine, et rencontrer R.M.Debat directeur et professeur de l’école, qui marqua mon existence de peintre. Puis des études à l’institut des sciences géodésiques, aux quelles il fallait s’accrocher pour sortir, enfin, Géomètre du cadastre.
C'est grâce à mon aptitude à forcer la chance, que j’ai pu conduire cette double carrière à force de travail et d’opiniâtreté.
On ne décide pas un jour, d’être peintre. On porte la peinture en soi.

Artabus : Quelles on été vos références, qui sont vos maîtres ?
Med-Bachir : La renaissance Italienne, les Orientalistes. Plus tard, je suis allé à Paris. J’ai été très ému devant les tableaux des Impressionnistes. Ce fut aussi la découverte de l’expressionnisme abstrait, qui m’a beaucoup choqué et déprimé au début. Mais l’important pour moi, était de voir le plus de peinture possible, de la digérer. La fréquentation des musées est inévitable pour qui aime la peinture.
Mon maître : Roger Marius Debat : (Constantine : 26 juin 1906 - La Napoule : Alpes-Maritimes 1966). J’ai consacré dix ans de ma vie auprès de ce maître. J’ai tout appris en le regardant peindre. Il m’enseigna le dessin, la perspective, la composition d’après nature, toutes les lois de la couleur et les effets de matière. C’est à lui que je dois l’éducation de mon œil. J’acceptais ses exigences et son incorruptibilité en matière de travail. Ensemble nous plantâmes nos chevalets devant le monument aux morts, les ponts… La transmission se fût héritage de lumière, de sensibilité aux couleurs claires pour capter l’instant. Les débuts étaient difficiles je l’avoue, car je manquais d’audace, mais, j’ai fini par oser certains gestes après l’avoir vu les faire. Après on doit trouver son propre vocabulaire. Mais il faut beaucoup de volonté et de courage pour cela.
La peinture est un plaisir, quand tout vient très vite.

Artabus : Est-ce que l’on peut considérer Constantine comme le fondement de votre peinture ?
Med-Bachir : Constantine est ma grande inspiratrice. Je me sens en symbiose avec elle et m’en imprègne pleinement et totalement.
Constantine, ma ville natale, ou « Cirta », la cité antique, qui a marqué pendant des millénaires l’histoire de l’humanité. Elle a contribué à l’enrichissement du patrimoine universel par sa profondeur historique dans toute sa dimension civilisationnelle. Véritable carrefour des civilisations méditérranniènes marquées par l’empreinte des Numides, Romains, Byzantins, Arabo-islamiques, Ottomans et l’arrivée des Français en 1837, qui lui imprimeront un cachet européen.
Perchée sur le haut d’un rocher t’elle « un nid d’aigle ». Elle s’offre en musée naturel, embelli de main de maître sur un fond de vestiges historiques et architecturaux qui fond d’elle une « œuvre humaine exceptionnelle ».
Ma paix intérieure trouve un écho dans les profondeurs de ses gorges, le clapotis du Rummel, le passage gracieux d’un couple de pigeon, au-dessus de la cime du majestueux pont « Sidi M’cid ». C’est là que je puise mes sujets, pour manifester ce désir de saisir sur le vif, l’impalpable, la fugitive lumière et d’imprégner l’œuvre peinte de la subtilité de l’air en lui insufflant les palpitations de la vie. L’air, l’eau, le ciel, la roche et la lumière tiennent une place prépondérante sur l’ensemble des toiles exposées.

.:: Rue Thiers


A découvrir dans
la galerie de l'artiste

Artabus : Techniquement comment sont réalisées vos œuvres : sur place, d’après photo ou selon votre imagination ?
Med-Bachir : Un sujet ne se traite pas d’après photo ! Car la photo en quelque sorte est déjà une traduction du réel, elle résume le sujet par trame en quelques milliers de points de couleurs. Le peintre ne peut s’en contenter, ce serait renoncer a sa vocation d’artiste qui consiste à interpréter et filtrer le réel, mais la photo servira éventuellement à nous rappeler quelques petits détails et les clichés de mémo en cas d’oubli.
Oui ! Je travaille sur place et d’imagination. Ma démarche est assez proche de celle des impressionnistes et puis, le travail en extérieur me plait beaucoup par ce que le sujet est abordé directement d’une manière spontanée et fugitive. Mes croquis sont toujours exécutés à l’aquarelle sur du papier « Arche » de format A3.
L’aquarelle est un bon médium. Oui, associée à l’eau, elle devient capricieuse, instable, quelques fois surprenante imprévisible. Avec le pigment, l’eau fait ce qu’elle veut. Il faut de la subtilité, de la rapidité dans l’exécution.
En fait, la technique de l’aquarelle s’apparente au croquis elle est sa complémentaire d’autant plus que le dessin représente la moitié du travail. Le reste représente deux tiers d’observation et un tiers d’exécution. La maîtrise des couleurs à l’aquarelle permet d’avantage de liberté dans l’expression et on peut aller plus loin dans l’audace et ne demande aucun matériel spécial pour le transport à l’extérieur.
Une fois arrivé sur place, je fait un tour d’horizon, je regarde, je cadre mon sujet mentalement et moi seul peut fixer le choix de l’instant. « la raison d’être de l’art, n’est-elle pas de choisir ? » Puis je m’installe en position de méditation et la magie de l’instant opère. En plein air devant le site, je ressents une sorte de symbiose au contacte de cette nature si pure et mystérieuse. Cette beauté, ce pittoresque qui exalte, impressionne, et qui émeut, comme si on écoutait la musique de J-Sebastien Bach, si mystique et spirituelle. Je me sens alors très créatif, ce sont ces moments de grâce que je cherche à transmettre.
Par un dessin très construit, je fixe les lignes les masses et les accidents du paysage, au début pas d’improvisation, toute la structure est là, une fois dans mon atelier. Commence alors le dialogue avec la surface blanche, c’est une période de gestation : Je m’écoute, je deviens mon propre spectateur, mon propre juge.
Et les yeux remplis de la vision du site ils n’en oublient plus rien, car le tableau est fixé sur la rétine, je recréé ce que j’ai vu à travers l’émotion qui se prolonge en moi transposant selon mon tempérament des tons justes marquant les effets de lumière initiatrice des valeurs et qui donnent à l’œuvre sa peau : Le brillant, le mat, le lisse, le rugueux … Sans oublier sa corollaire, l’ombre bleutée qui indiquent les rapports des valeurs.

.:: Monument aux morts

Artabus : Par quelle magie arrivez-vous à donner vie à vos tableaux qui invitent aux voyage ?
Med-Bachir : Je peints selon l’inspiration, la réflexion, l’humeur du moment, ce que ma mémoire a retenu de la nature : L’espace et la lumière.
Il n’y a jamais eu de recette pour faire une belle peinture : il faut en faire et en faire... voilà le secret. La peinture a dit, Delacroix : « C’est l’art de produire l’illusion » c’est bien vrai. Produire l’illusion du réel en peinture nécessite un métier charpenté. La technique s’avère nécessaire. Tous est exigé du peintre, rien ne doit lui rester étranger : Maîtrise des perspectives, des valeurs, des couleurs, connaissance de la composition etc...
Lorsque la machine du métier est rodée, il faut privilégier le chemin de la sensibilité et de l’esprit. Car, la spontanéité subjective n’est pas contradictoire avec les acquis techniques. Elle implique une réflexion sur la couleur et les gestes qui les posent, afin de contrôler la part du hasard. L’expérience augmente les moments de méditations et d’exécution. Autrement- dit : Le dessin est une première analyse, la mise en place des couleurs et des valeurs, en est une autre. Cette dernière est déterminante puisqu’elle contrôle l’harmonie colorée. Le but c’est d’arriver à décomposer le croquis (réalisé à l’extérieur) puis à clarifier son travail, sinon on risque de se perdre, car le passage de l’aquarelle à la peinture à l’huile s’avère difficile. Quand je travaille, le temps ne compte plus, il m’est arrivé souvent de rester trois à quatre mois sur une même toile. Ma peinture prend du temps, la finir est toujours une lutte contre le temps, et on est fier de cette lutte.
C’est un processus délicat, qui procure du plaisir, de l’évasion, l’imagination et le rêve, qui me guideront avec le souhait toujours renouvelé de voir se dégager ce quelque chose qui ressemble à l’âme de l’artiste, comme un souffle de poésie.

Artabus : Somme-nous tous doués pour la peinture ?
Med-Bachir : Non, je ne crois pas. Je pense même que les vrais peintres sont rares, contrairement à ce que la plupart pensent ; La peinture n’est pas un divertissement, c’est un choix d’accepter une initiation longue, pénible, souvent rebutante, mais toujours passionnément saine et féconde, pour se convertir à la religion de la beauté sublime des formes et des couleurs du monde, qui donne aux vrais peintres tout le sens de leur vie. La peinture c’est d’abord un métier, puis, une forte personnalité, mais c’est cette dernière qui transcende le métier. Mais, quand on n’a pas de métier, on est naïf. Faut-il encore avoir les deux ? On peut toujours prendre des cours… Mais on ne deviendra pas forcément un grand artiste pour autant. C’est comme à l’école, l’élève apprend beaucoup de choses. La plupart ne lui serviront jamais, mais l’acquisition de ses notions lui permette d’être libre et lui donne les moyens de motiver ses options. Pour ne pas faire certaines choses par choix, et non par manque de métier.
La ligne et la couleur sont toujours restées rebelles au réflexe qui les fera poser exactement comme les voit l’esprit. C’est ce réflexe qu’il faut obtenir pour être sincère. La sincérité étant une condition essentielle, son réflexe sera le talent.

.:: Le Passage

Artabus : Selon de nombreux avis vous faites l’unanimité, comment gérez-vous votre succès ?
Med-Bachir : J’avoue que cela me ravi, me rassure, m’encourage et me permet aussi d’aller encore plus loin. Je suis de ceux qui se mettent en questions à chaque toile, m’interdisant le succès facile ou à tout prix, croyez-moi, je suis très exigeant envers moi-même. J’ai toujours le trac devant une toile blanche, c’est dur, car, je n’ai ni la satisfaction des choses, ni le sentiment de connaître. Il est vrai que je m’exprime à travers un ensemble d’éléments plastiques et de signes émanant d’un état d’âme à la fois sensible et émotionnel, mais cela ne m’empêche jamais de remettre en cause ce j’ai fais. Mon estime va vers les peintres osant se remettre en questions à chaque toile. Je suis un artiste, un idéaliste. Je vois la vie avec réalisme et seulement rêver face à mon œuvre.

Artabus : Qu’elle serons vos prochaines étapes en terme de carrière artistique ?
Med-Bachir : « Ars longa vita brevis » (l’art est long, la vie est brève) dit : l’adage romain. Depuis plus de trente ans de peinture, de sculpture... Je suis passé par plusieurs expériences et tendances. Autant d’année de travail, de recherche. Autant de tentatives. Mais je n’ai jamais cessé d’apprendre, d’acquérir les métiers, c'est-à-dire : l’expérience indispensable pour bien faire toutes choses est d’accumuler les connaissances et les techniques.
Pour moi, le plus important est de créer un monde dans lequel se passe beaucoup de choses. Quand on a de la technique, un style, on peut tout faire, le répertoire devient infini. Et mon ambition est de faire toujours, quelque chose d’honnête.

Artabus : Que pouvez-vous nous dire, sur votre palette, les produits que vous employez pour vos tableaux. Etes-vous concerné par le passage du temps ?
Med-Bachir : Permettez-moi d’abord de vous dire ; qu’un tableau est une sculpture en bas-relief. Toute trace de pinceau sur sa surface accroche la lumière comme un joyau. Mais si cette trace disparaît. La lumière n’est plus là.
Bien sûr, que je suis impliqué, car je sais, comme tout le monde : avec le temps les vernis jaunissent par oxydation, les bleus tourne au vert, les rouges virent à l’orange et que les blancs jaunissent… les ennemis de la peinture sont connus : La fumée, l’humidité, les moisissures, le tabac, toutes les vapeurs et les odeurs pénétrantes. La qualité de la matière employée, l’ignorance des réactions chimiques entre les couleurs, sont les causes les plus courantes d’auto destruction des tableaux.
Seul les couleurs minérales sont solides pour la plupart, et ne passant pas à la lumière. Et la chimie d’aujourd’hui en a reconstitué quelques-unes en produit de remplacement à cause de leur rareté et de leur prix élevé (Lapis-lazuli : bleu outremer. Cinabre : vermillon)...
Ma palette de base se compose : Du blanc d’argent, Jaune de cadmium, Ocre jaune et rouge, Terre de sienne naturelle et brûlée, Vert émeraude, Bleu outremer et cobalt, Rouge vermillon, et enfin la laque de garance : la seul couleur végétale sur ma palette, fine et très solide. Elle sert pour les glacis.
Je prépare moi-même deux types de medium : le premier composé d’huile d'oeillette, de térébenthine et une goutte de siccative. C’est un médium plus dilué, est élaboré pour les premières couches. Le seconds : composé d’huile de lin clarifiée de térébenthine et une goutte de vernis au dammar. Ce médium enrichit et approfondit la peinture, surtout dans les zones d’ombre.
Chaque pinceau correspond à une surface, à une touche. Il existe des souple des carrés des ronds des longs des fins... martre rouge et mangouste. J’emploie les couleurs « Le franc&Bourgeois ou Windsor&newton » Et les pinceaux « Raphaël ». Qui, à mon avis, son de bonnes qualités. Je travaille toujours sur de la toile de lin ou sur du contrecollés de 20/10°, bon pour le travail au couteau.

.:: Méharistes


Consultez cette oeuvre
dans la galerie de l'artiste

.:: Le choix des couleurs

Artabus : Un dernier mot en guise de conclusion.
Med-Bachir : IL EST VRAI, que nous sommes au siècle des technologies. Les techniques et les matières utilisées dans l’industrie des couleurs synthétiques sont nombreuses et multiples.
IL EST AUSSI VRAI, qu’on peut très bien réaliser un tableau, quelque que soit son thème, avec une bonne ou mauvaise matière, selon un bon ou un mauvais emploi. Mais si ce tableau est réalisé avec de bon produit selon un emploi conforme à leur nature.
IL SERA ENCORE VRAI, que les générations futures auront encore le plaisir et la joie de le contempler, au lieu de n’avoir que la satisfaction de posséder une signature.

 
© Les oeuvres d'Art présentes sur Artabus sont soumises aux dispositions des différentes législations nationales et internationales sur la protection des droits d'auteurs. Toute reproduction ou utilisation des oeuvres de cette galerie est interdite sans autorisation écrite de l'artiste contemporain Med Bachir Bouchriha.
[ Infos légales | Qui sommes nous | | Calibrage écran | RSS | Administration Salesforce ]

Med Bachir Bouchriha

 Afficher en français
  • Biography
  • Gallery
  • Interview
  • Guest book
  • Contact
  • Catalog

Quick access :
Constantine
Personnage
Paysage
Natures mortes

.:: Dive in his universe !

An exclusive interview

Figurative painter

Artabus : Your beginnings, what was the click, what incited you to paint ?
Med-Bachir : Unique son of a modest family of Constantine. Child, I already had this taste of the liberty and the desire to go at the end of my dreams. Mine was to become painter. I drew everything that to pass me under the eyes, I invented all sorts of objects. In my solitude, I felt the need to run away me in an imaginary world.
The years passed and I didn't desist some. Teenager I had luck, thanks to the precious assistance of my drawing professor to the technical college, my entry in the school of fine arts of Constantine, and to meet leading R.M.Debat and professor of the school, who marked my painter's existence. Then of the studies to the institute of the geodesic sciences, what was necessary to cling to leave the, finally, Geometer of the land-registry.
Thanks to my faculty to force luck, that I could drive this double career by dint of work and stubbornness.
One doesn't decide one day, to be a painter. One carries the painting in itself.

Artabus : What are your references, who are your masters ?
Med-Bachir : The Italian rebirth, the Orientalists. Later, I went to Paris. I have been moved very before the pictures of the Impressionists. It was also the discovery of expressionism abstracts that shocked me a lot and depressed in the beginning. But the important for me, was to see the more of possible painting, to digest it. The company of the museums is unavoidable for that likes the painting.
My master: Roger Marius Débat: (Constantine: June 26, 1906 - The Napoule: Alpes-Maritimes 1966). I dedicated ten years of my life by this master. I learned everything while looking at it to paint. He/it taught me the drawing, the perspective, the composition according to nature, all the laws of the color and the effects of matter. It is his that I owe the education of my eye. I accepted his/her/its requirements and his/her/its incorruptibility concerning work. Together we planted our racks before the monument to the deaths, the bridges… The transmission was himself inheritance of light, of sensitivity to the clear colors to capture the instant. The beginnings were difficult I confess it, because I lacked audacity, but, I ended up daring some gestures after having seen it making it. After oneself must find his/her/its own vocabulary. But a lot of will is necessary and of courage for it.
The painting is a pleasure, when all comes very quickly.

Artabus : Do you consider Constantine as the foundation of your painting ?
Med-Bachir : Constantine is my big inspirer. I feel in symbiosis with her and fully impregnate of it to me and completely.
Constantine, my native city, or "Cirta", the ancient city, that marked during millennia the history of the humanity. It contributed to the enrichment of the universal heritage by its historic depth in its dimension. Real crossroads of the mediterraneans civilizations marked by the print of the Numides, Romans, Byzantine, Arab-Islamic, Ottomans and the arrival of the French in 1837, that will print him an European seal.
Located on the top of a rock, "a nest of eagle". It offers itself in natural museum, embellished of master hand on a bottom of historic and architectural vestiges that melts of an "exceptional human work".
My interior peace finds an echo in the depths of its throats, the swash of the Rummel, the gracious passage of a pigeon couple, above the summit of the majestic bridge «Sidi M cid. » It is there that I draw my topics, to show this desire to seize, the impalpable, from life the fleeting light and to impregnate the work painted of the air subtlety while inspiring to him the palpitations of life. Air, water, the sky, the rock and light hold a major place on the set of canvases exposed.

.:: Thiers street


Discover it in
the artist's gallery

Artabus : Technically how are achieved your works : there, according to photo or according to your imagination ?
Med-Bachir : A topic doesn't treat itself according to photo! Because the photo is in a way already a translation of the real, it summarizes the topic by plot in a few thousands of points of color. The painter cannot be content with it, it would be a renounciation to his artist's vocation that consists in interpreting and to filter the real, but the photo will possibly serve to us recalled a few small details and stereotyped them of memo in case of oblivion.
Yes! I work there and of imagination. My gait is enough close to the one of the impressionists and then, work in outside pleases me a lot by what the topic is approached directly in a spontaneous and fleeting manner. My sketches are always executed to the watercolors on the paper "Ark" of A3 format.
The watercolors is a good medium. Yes, associated to water, it becomes capricious, unsteady, some times surprise unforeseeable. With the pigment, water makes what it wants. The subtlety, of the speed in the execution, is necessary.
In fact, the technique of the watercolors is like the sketch it is its complementary especially as the drawing represents the half of work. The rest represents two third of observation and a third of execution. The mastery of the colors to the watercolors permits advantage of liberty in the expression and one can go farther in the audacity and cannot ask outside for any special material for the transportation.
Done arrive once there, do I make a tour of horizon, do I watch, do I center my topic mentally and me only can fixed the choice of the instant... The reason to be the art, isn't it to choose ? Then I get settled in position of meditation and the magic of the instant operates. In full air before the site, I feel a sort of symbiosis to contacts it of this so pure and mysterious nature. The values. Beauty, this vividness that exalts, impresses, and that emotional, as if one listened to the music of J-Sebastian Bach, so mystical and spiritual. I feel then very creative; these are these moments of grace that I look for to transmit.
By a drawing very constructs, I fix the lines the masses and the accidents of the landscape, in the beginning by improvisation, the whole structure is there, once in my shop. Begin the dialogue then with the white surface, it is a period of growth : I listen myself; I become my own spectator, my own judge.
And the eyes filled of the vision of the site they don't forget anything anymore of it, because the picture is fixed on the retina, I recreated what I saw through the emotion that continues in me transposing according to my feeling of the just tones marking the effects of initiator light of the values and that give to the work its skin: The brightness, the mat, the smooth, the rough... Without forgettingits corollary, the bluish shade that indicates the reports of the values.

.:: War memorial

Artabus : By what magic do you manage to give life to your pictures that invite to travel ?
Med-Bachir : I paint according to the inspiration, the reflection, the mood of the moment, that my memory restraint in term of of the nature : The space and light.
There is no recipe to make a beautiful painting : it is necessary to make some veiled the secret. The painting said, Delacroix: "It is the art to produce the illusion" that is well true. To produce the illusion of the real in painting, it requires skill. The technique proves to be necessary. All is required of the painter, nothing must remain foreign: Mastery of the perspectives, of the values, of the colors, knowledge of the composition etc...
When the machine of the profession is broken in, it is necessary to privilege the path of the sensitivity and the mind. Because, the subjective spontaneity is not contradictory with the technical acquirements. It implies a reflection on the color and the gestures that put them, in order to control the part of the luck. The experience increases the moments of meditations and execution. Otherwise - says: The drawing is a first analysis, the setting up of the colors and values, it is another. This last is then determining that it controls the colourful harmony. The goal it is to manage to decompose the sketch (achieved outside) then to clarify its work, otherwise one risk to get lost, because the passage of the watercolors to the oil painting proves to be difficult. When I work, the time doesn't count anymore, it often happened to me to remain three to four months on a same canvas. My painting takes of the time, to finish it is always a struggle against the time, and one trust this struggle.
It is a delicate process that procures the pleasure, of the escape, the imagination and the dream, that will guide me with the wish always renewed to see to clear itself this something that looks like the artist's soul, like a breath of poetry.

Artabus : Are we all able to paint ?
Med-Bachir : No, I don't think so. I even think that the true painters are rare, contrary to what most think; The painting is not an entertainment, it is a choice to accept a long, laborious initiation, often off-putting, but always passionately healthy and fertile, to convert to the religion of the sublime beauty of the shapes and the colors of the world, that gives to the true painters the whole sense of their life. The painting it is first a profession, then, a strong personality, but it is this last that transcends the profession. But, when one doesn't have a profession, one is naive. Is it again necessary to have both ? One can always take some courses... But he won't necessarily become a big artist for as much. It is as to the school, the pupil learns a lot of things. Most will never serve to him, but the acquirement of his notions allows him to be free and give him the means to motivate his options. Not to make some things by choice, and no for lack of profession.
The line and the color always remained rebels to the reflex that will make them put precisely as the mind sees them. It is this reflex that it is necessary to get to be sincere. The sincerity being an essential condition, his reflex will be the talent.

.:: The way

Artabus : According to many opinions you make the unanimity, how do you manage your success ?
Med-Bachir : I confess that it delighted me, reassure myself, encourage myself and permits me also to go again farther. I am of those that get in questions to every canvas, forbidding me the easy success or to all price, believe me, I am very demanding towards myself. I always have the stage fright owing a white canvas; it is hard, because, I don't have the satisfaction of the things, nor the feeling to know. It is true that I express myself through a set of plastic elements and signs emanating a mood at a time sensitive and emotional, but it never stops from questioning this again I have make. My esteem goes toward the painters daring to get back in questions to every canvas. I am an artist, an idealist. I see life with realism and only to dream facing my work.

Artabus : What are the next steps for your artistic career ?
Med-Bachir : « Ars longa vita brevis » (the art is long, life is brief) says : the Roman adage. Since more of thirty years of painting, of sculpture... I had several experiences and tendencies. As much work year, of research. As many tentative. But I never stopped to learn, to acquire the professions, that wants to say: the indispensable experience to really make all things and to accumulate the knowledge and the techniques.
For me, the most important is to create a world in which happen a lot of things. When one has the technique, a style, one is able all to make, the index becomes infinite. And my ambition is to make always, something honest.

Artabus : What can you tell us about your palette and the products used for your paintings ?
Med-Bachir : Permit me first to tell you that a picture is a sculpture in bas-relief. All trace of brush on its surface hangs light like a jewel. But if this trace disappears, there is no more light.
Of course, that I am implied, because I know, as everybody : with time varnishes yellow by oxidization, the bruises turn to the green, the reds turn to the orange and that the whites yellow... the enemies of the painting are known: Smoke, the humidity, mildews, tobacco, all steams and the discerning odors. The quality of matter used, the ignorance of the chemical reactions between the colors, are the most current reasons of self-destruction of the pictures.
Only the mineral colors are strong for most, and not passing to light. And today's chemistry reconstituted some of it produces some replacement because of their rarity and their elevated price (Lapis lazuli: ultramarine. Cinnabar: vermilion)...
My basic palette is composed: Of the money white, Yellow of cadmium, yellow and red Ocher, Earth of his natural and burnt, Green emerald, ultramarine and cobalt, vermillion Red, and finally the lacquer of madder: the only plant color on my palette, fine and very strong; it serves for the glazes.
I prepare myself two types of medium: the first compound of oil of oeillette, of turpentine and a drop of siccative. It is a more dilute medium, is elaborated for the first layers. The second: composed of oil of linen clarified of turpentine and a drop of varnish to the dammar. This medium enriches and deepens the painting, especially in the shaded zones.
Every brush corresponds to a surface, to a key. The flexible of the squares of the circles of the long of the ends exists... red marten and mongoose. I use the colors "Le franc&Bourgeois" or "Windsor&newton" And the Rafael brushes. That, to my point of view, is of good qualities. I always work on the canvas of linen or on the centrefolds of 20/10°, good for work to the knife.

.:: Meharists


See this painting
in the artist's gallery

.:: Choosing colors

Artabus : Last but not least...
Med-Bachir : It is TRUE, that we are in the century of technologies. The techniques and matters used in the industry of the synthetic colors are numerous and multiple.
It is AS TRULY, that one can achieve a picture very well, some that either its theme, with a good or bad matter, according to a good or a bad use. But if this picture is achieved with good products according to an use in conformity with their nature.
It will be EVEN TRUE, that the future generations will have the pleasure and joy again to contemplate it, instead of having the satisfaction only to possess a signature.

 
© All of the images on this website are copyrighted original artworks by their author and are protected by international copyright law. No materials in this gallery may be reproduced, copied, downloaded, or used in any form without written permission of the contemporary artist Med Bachir Bouchriha.
[ Terms of use | about us | | Screen calibration | RSS | Salesforce Administration ]