Andrew Chisholm

 Display in english

Accès rapide :
Recent Work
Abstracts
La Petite Morte
Loterie des symboles
Oil & acrylic paintings
Miniature
Prints
Watercolours
Drawings

Andrew Chisholm - Accès à la galerie

Andrew Chisholm travaille comme enseignant et peintre d'intérieur. Il peint lorsqu'il ne travaille pas, ne dort pas, ne mange pas, ne boit pas ou toute autre activité. Il prétend avoir démarré le dessin avant d'avoir appris à lire et à écrire, et a continué cela pendant près de 30 ans.

Après quelques années d'études auto-motivées, Andrew entra à l'University of Western Ontario où il reçu son Bachelor of Fine Arts en 1999 et un Bachelor of Education en 2001. Depuis il a surtout tenté de trouver un logement, payant ses emprunts d'études, et sans cesse discutant d'idées de peintures qui ne semblent jamais avoir été peintes - ou sporadiquement lorsqu'elles semblent l'avoir été.

Ses peintures sont habituellement des verres. A l'origine travaillant à l'huile, il a travaillé plus récemment à l'huile. La plupart des surfaces sont préparées par l'artiste; il construit les cadres et étend les toiles sur lesquelles il peint. Il a fait les papiers sur lesquels il imprime et dans le passé il a aussi trouvé une expression sur les objets trouvés : panneau de chute, guitares, vieilles planches à roulettes et autres surfaces comme par exemple les murs.

Son travail se centre sur lui-même; ses expériences et perceptions du monde qui l'entoure et la façon qu'il se relie à lui. Les peintures d'Andrew explorent différents niveaux : les qualités physiques du milieu, la nature de l'illusion au travers de représentations réalistes, et sa propre exploration de symboles et d'archetypes. Un objet, visage ou endroit peuvent évoquer une signification mystique; des images d'archetypes sont agencées ou conçues selon sa perspective personnelle.

Il soutient que "le monde extérieur est commandé par l'expérience perceptive du spectateur. La lumière du monde extérieur illumine l'objet tandis que l'esprit construit la signification des objets." Nombre de ses peintures sont tirées d'images personnelles et ont eu une superposition de l'interprétation personnelle et de points de référence. Chaque peinture est une partie d'une recherche continue : un épisode de l'artiste est une poursuite perpétuelle d'idées et de relations. Au centre de cette quête se trouve la vérité évasive ou le saint graal que recherche l'artiste; ici, probablement, se trouve la pure perception et communication crystaline. Les peintures sont des enregistrements d'impressions éphémères et d'épiphanies qui servent d'illuminations et posent des questions sur le voyage, un voyage qui semble souvent apparenté au poême de Browning "Childe Roland to the Dark Tower Came."

Andrew est également connu pour faire de la musique, cuisine, et fréquenter les bars très enfumés.

 

Expositions/Activités

* Square Foot Show, Westland Gallery, London, Ontario, 2013 & 2014

* Juried Miniature Show, The Art Exchange, London, Ontario, 2008, 2010 - 2014

* Clash of the Canvases, APK, London, Ontario, 2013

* Paper Eight, The Arts Project, London, Ontario, 2013

* Back Alley Arts Festival, East Village Arts Co-op, London, Ontario, 2009

* Visual Fringe, London Fringe Festival, London, Ontario, 2003, 2004, 2005 & 2008

* ‘The Best of . . .’, espy Studio, 538 Adelaide St., 2001

* Live performances with ‘The Riderless’ at the Forest City Gallery, Londre, 2000-02

* Untitled 1999: U.W.O. Visual Arts Graduating Exhibition, 125 Dundas and The ArtLab, U.W.O., 1999

* Going Beyond: Printmaking Reconsidered, McIntosh Gallery, U.W.O., 1998

* Open Gallery: 3rd Year Painting, The ArtLab, U.W.O., 1998

 
© Les oeuvres d'Art présentes sur Artabus sont soumises aux dispositions des différentes législations nationales et internationales sur la protection des droits d'auteurs. Toute reproduction ou utilisation des oeuvres de cette galerie est interdite sans autorisation écrite de l'artiste contemporain Andrew Chisholm.
[ Infos légales | Qui sommes nous | | Calibrage écran | RSS | Administration Salesforce ]

Andrew Chisholm

 Afficher en français

Quick access :
Recent Work
Abstracts
La Petite Morte
Lottery of Symbols (paintings)
Oil & acrylic paintings
Miniatures
Prints
Watercolours
Drawings

Andrew Chisholm - Enter the gallery

Andrew claims to have started drawing before he could read or
write, and has continued to do so for over thirty years.  After several years of self-motivated study, Andrew enrolled at the University of Western Ontario where he received a Bachelor of Fine Arts in 1999 and a Bachelor of Education in 2001. Since then he has worked for the Thames Valley DSB as an occasional art and/or English teacher.

Andrew currently works out of his studio, a converted garage, in London, Ontario.  His paintings are usually glazes. Originally working in oil, he has been working with acrylic glazes most recently. Most surfaces are prepared by the artist; he builds the frames and stretches the canvases on which he paints. He has made the paper on which he prints and yet, in the past, he has also found expression on found objects: scrap board; guitars; old skateboards; and various other surfaces.

His work centres on himself; his experiences and his perceptions of the external world as they relate to him. Andrew’s paintings explore several different levels: the physical qualities of the medium; the nature of illusion through realistic representation; and his own exploration of symbols and archetypes. A common object, face, or place may assume mystical significance; archetypal images are ordered or conceived from his personal perspective.

He claims that "the external world is ordered by the perceptual experience of the onlooker. The light of the external world illuminates the object while the mind constructs the objects significance." Many of these paintings are drawn from personal images and have had the personal interpretation and reference points super-imposed upon them. Each of the paintings is a part of an ongoing quest: an episode of the artist in an on going pursuit of ideas and relationships. At the centre of this quest is the elusive truth or holy grail which the artist seeks; here, perhaps, is pure crystalline perception and communication. The paintings are records of fleeting impressions and epiphanies which serve as illuminations and pose questions on the journey - a journey which often seems akin to Browning’s poem "Childe Roland to the Dark Tower Came."

 

Exhibitions/Activities

* Square Foot Show, Westland Gallery, London, Ontario, 2013

* Clash of the Canvases, APK, London, Ontario, 2013

* Paper Eight, The Arts Project, London, Ontario, 2013

* Juried Miniature Show, The Art Exchange, London, Ontario, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, & 2013

* Back Alley Arts Festival, East Village Arts Co-op, London, Ontario, 2009

* Visual Fringe, London Fringe Festival, London, Ontario, 2003, 2004, 2005 & 2008

* ‘The Best of . . .’, espy Studio, 538 Adelaide St., London, Ontario, 2001

* Live performances with ‘The Riderless’ at the Forest City Gallery, London, Ontario, 2000-02

* Untitled 1999: U.W.O. Visual Arts Graduating Exhibition, 125 Dundas and The ArtLab, U.W.O., 1999

* Going Beyond: Printmaking Reconsidered, McIntosh Gallery, U.W.O., 1998

* Open Gallery: 3rd Year Painting, The ArtLab, U.W.O., 1998

 
© All of the images on this website are copyrighted original artworks by their author and are protected by international copyright law. No materials in this gallery may be reproduced, copied, downloaded, or used in any form without written permission of the contemporary artist Andrew Chisholm.
[ Terms of use | about us | | Screen calibration | RSS | Salesforce Administration ]